A variety of assessment methods will be used on your programme. These are designed to enable you to meet the learning outcomes for the module and experience a range of methods in preparation for further study or employment. Some examples include:

  • Written examinations
  • Coursework assignments such as reports or essays
  • Individual and group-based project work
  • Practical investigationsGroup and individual presentations
  • Placement or work experience logs
  • Reflective accounts
  • Portfolios
  • Product production and realisation

Modules generally have a maximum of two assessments, for example a presentation and a written piece of course work.Almost all programmes have a major project or dissertation in the second or final year; this is an independent research project into an issue or topic that is relevant to your subject. To support you in your project a series of research methods lectures will be available and you will be allocated a project or dissertation supervisor who will support you in your research.


Grades can be awarded at module and qualification level, depending on the programme you are studying.Honours degrees classifications are as follows:

  • First Class Honours
  • Upper Second Class Honours
  • Lower Second Class Honours
  • Third Class Honours
  • Pass Degree

Honours degree classifications are awarded subject to the awarding university's Academic Regulations.

Foundation degrees

Foundation degrees are graded according to the Foundation Degree Regulations of the university who awards the qualification. This could include Pass, Commendation and Distinction grades.

Higher National Certificates and Diplomas

Each module will be graded as a pass, merit or distinction.A pass is awarded for the achievement of all learning outcomes against the specified assessment criteria. Merit and distinction grades are awarded for higher-level achievement and are based on the quality of your work.The qualification grade of a merit or distinction is awarded through the aggregation of points gained through the successful achievement of individual units.Grading of the HNC/D is based on your best performance in units at the level or above of the qualification to the value of 75 credits.

This means that if you are studying for:

  1. A HNC your overall grade is based on the best results from five modules on your programme.
  2. A HND, your overall grade is based on the best results from five modules at level 5.

The number of points available is dependent on the unit grade achieved and the credit size of the unit, most units have a credit value of 15.To calculate your overall qualification grade

Multiply the credit value of your best five modules by the following:

Points per credit:

  • Pass = 0
  • Merit = 1
  • Distinction = 2
Points Range Grade
0-74 Pass P
75-149 Merit M
150 Distinction D

Academic regulations and grading are explained in detail during your induction.

Methods for evaluating and improving the quality and standards of learning, including consideration of stakeholder feedback

All higher education courses comply with the Quality Assurance Agency's (QAA) Code of Practice. The Code of Practice sets out what the College is expected to do to ensure you have a positive learning experience.
Quality and standards are enhanced through:


  • Board of Studies (Student Representatives Board)
  • Examination/ Award Board
  • Academic Board
  • Standards Committee

Mechanisms for review and evaluation:

  • Review and validation event
  • Annual monitoring report
  • Student feedback questionnaires
  • Annual teaching appraisal
  • External examiner's report
  • Course team meetings
  • Quality monitoring systems

External Examiners who monitor the programme are appointed by Edexcel and are recruited from similar programmes of high standing at other Higher Education Institutions or have considerable experience in the provision of HNDs in the Early Years Sector.

Their work includes:

  • Approving coursework assignments and assessment criteria
  • Approving examination papers
  • Monitoring standards through moderation of completed assessments
  • Confirming assessment standards


customer service
investors in people
disability confident
british council