A variety of assessment methods will be used on your programme. These are designed to enable you to meet the learning outcomes for the module and experience a range of methods in preparation for further study or employment. Some examples include:

  • Written examinations
  • Coursework assignments such as reports or essays
  • Individual and group-based project work
  • Practical investigationsGroup and individual presentations
  • Placement or work experience logs
  • Reflective accounts
  • Portfolios
  • Product production and realisation

Modules generally have a maximum of two assessments, for example a presentation and a written piece of course work.Almost all programmes have a major project or dissertation in the second or final year; this is an independent research project into an issue or topic that is relevant to your subject. To support you in your project a series of research methods lectures will be available and you will be allocated a project or dissertation supervisor who will support you in your research.


For many qualifications grades can be awarded at module and qualification level, depending on the programme you are studying. The specific grading method for your course will be explained in your student handbook and at induction.

Generally grading is:

Honours degrees

Honours degree classifications are as follows:

  • First Class Honours
  • Upper Second Class Honours
  • Lower Second Class Honours
  • Third Class Honours
  • Pass Degree

Honours degree classifications are awarded subject to the awarding university's Academic Regulations.

Foundation degrees

Foundation degrees are graded according to the Foundation Degree Regulations of the university who awards the qualification. This could include Pass, Commendation and Distinction grades.

Higher National Certificates and Diplomas

Each unit will be graded as a pass, merit or distinction. A pass is awarded for the achievement of all learning outcomes against the specified assessment criteria. Merit and distinction grades are awarded for higher-level achievement and meeting the specified higher criteria on each unit. All merit criteria must be passed to achieve a merit grade on the unit, and all merit and distinction criteria must be achieved to be awarded a distinction grade.

The qualification grade of a merit or distinction is awarded through the aggregation of points gained through the successful achievement of individual units.

Academic regulations and grading are explained in detail during your induction and are explained in your handbook.

Methods for evaluating and improving the quality and standards of learning.

All higher education courses comply with the UK Quality Code for Higher Education. The Quality Code sets out what the College is expected to do to ensure you have a positive learning experience.

The UK Quality code can be accessed at:

Quality and standards are enhanced through:


  • Board of Studies (Student Representatives Board)
  • Examination/ Award Board
  • Curriculum and Business Management Meeting
  • Higher Education Oversight committee
  • Corporation Meetings

Mechanisms for review and evaluation:

  • Review and validation event
  • Annual monitoring report
  • Student feedback questionnaires
  • External Examiner's report
  • Course team meetings
  • Quality monitoring systems

External Examiners who monitor the programme are appointed by Pearson (Edexcel) and are recruited from similar programmes of high standing at other Higher Education Institutions.
Their work includes:

  • Approving coursework assignments
  • Approving examination papers
  • Monitoring standards through moderation of completed assessments
  • Confirming assessment standards